There are places I’ll remember
All my life though some have changed
Some forever not for better
Some have gone and some remain
All these places have their moments
With lovers and friends I still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life I’ve loved them all

This Lennon and McCartney collaboration is such a poignantly appropriate song on so many occasions, each time I hear it a myriad pictures are auto-retrieved from the memory banks and flash by in quick succession, accompanied by the emotive responses that relate accordingly to each flashback.

Isn’t it strange how the aroma of a certain dish or a special combination of sensations, like salt spray and wind-chill transports you back to a very specific period in your past? It does to me – quite frequently in fact. And for me, the flashbacks are pretty much all associated with times that bring back fond memories – all of childhood. Is that weird? I’m not referring to Déjà vu, which is a whole other number. Maybe there’s a specific term for this as well – must remember to check it out.

Heeyy maaan, I remember yo tellin me bout dat beef curry aroma from dat time yo be a boarder in dat ol school by da sea, an every once in a while dis same smell take yo right back to dat ol school dinin hall. An den dat certain monsoon vibe where da smell of dat salt wind, damp earth an dat feel of da ocean wind on yo skin also take yo back dere.

That’s exactly what I mean – and Java should know better than most – although he was dormant at the time.

Anyway, the song goes on…

But of all these friends and lovers
There is no one compares with you
And these mem’ries lose their meaning
When I think of love as something new
Though I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them
In my life I love you more.
Though I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them
In my life I love you more.
In my life I love you more.

And then there’s the break, where I swear George Martin (aka the fifth Beatle) must have injected some of Pachabel’s Canon in D as an underlying chord structure. Just check it out and if you know the piece (Canon in D) I’m referring to, you may just know where I’m coming from.

Nostalgia anyone?

