I’ve got to admit it’s getting better
I used to be cruel to my woman
I beat her and kept her apart from the things that she loved
Man I was mean but I’m changing my scene
And I’m doing the best that I can.
I admit it’s getting better
A little better all the time

The lyrics of this Lennon-McCartney song came to mind when reading a couple of posts on kottu about the relationships experienced by the writers. Thoughts expressed about physical and psychological abuse, the disappointment resulting from being ‘let down’, the doubts about ‘trusting’ folk and about efforts made to re-invigorate relationships. All dealing with the sorrows resulting from failed or failing relationships, the writers apparently seek solace from just putting their thoughts out and hoping for …… well, I’m not quite sure what! Perhaps the very act of getting it ‘off the chest’ by getting it down and then out does something to ease the stress? Maybe they are looking for ‘advice’ or ‘sympathy’ from unknown (or even known) quarters? Who knows? And who really cares(???) in the real sense of the word – other than the protagonists, of course.

Responses to some of these posts have been varied – as is to be expected. Some express sympathy, some extend advice, whilst some pour scorn (check some of the tags on Achcharu). Whether this brings solace to the writers only they will really know. If the exercise resulted in some sort of satisfaction, then I guess the effort would have been worth it, however, there is always the chance that the exposure of the personal problem could actually compound it. Then there is also the matter of this ‘confession’ being viewed by friends of the individual blogger who know his / her identity, perhaps even by the person being referred to, in which case the effect of it could go either in favour of the writer or against. In any event, the act of putting down the thoughts will, more often than not, cause some sort of effect or karmic result.

That thought put down, here’s the Lennon – McCartney song in its entirety – just for the record!

It’s getting better all the time
I used to get mad at my school
The teachers who taught me weren’t cool
You’re holding me down, turning me round
Filling me up with your rules.

I’ve got to admit it’s getting better
A little better all the time
I have to admit it’s getting better
It’s getting better since you’ve been mine.

Me used to be a angry young man
Me hiding me head in the sand
You gave me the word
I finally heard
I’m doing the best that I can.
I’ve got to admit it’s getting better

I used to be cruel to my woman
I beat her and kept her apart from the things that she loved
Man I was mean but I’m changing my scene
And I’m doing the best that I can.

I admit it’s getting better
A little better all the time
Yes I admit it’s getting better
It’s getting better since you’ve been mine
Getting so much better all the time

Here’s to all those ‘seekers for solutions to their disappointing relationships’ – may it all get better real soon!
 

