I keep getting these mails to do with cricket ever since I posted A test of more than cricket a few weeks ago. This one is meant to be a joke, so I do hope you enjoy it, although fans of the Punter may not be quite as amused as the rest of us.

Here goes:

God, known to be a major cricket fan, arranges a meeting with three of the top captains over the years of team Australia and when they finally assemble in front of The Almighty, God asks Donald Bradman:

“What do you believe?”

Donald thinks long and hard, looks God in the eye, and says:”I believe in hard work, and in staying true to family and friends. I believe in giving. I was lucky, but I always tried to do right by my fans.”

God can’t help but see the essential goodness of Bradman, and offers him a seat to his left.

Then God turns to Allan Border and says:”What do you believe?”

Allan says: “I believe passion, discipline, courage and honor are the fundamentals of life. I, too, have been lucky, but win or lose, I’ve always tried to be a true sportsman, both on and off the playing fields.”

God is greatly moved by Allan’s sincere eloquence, and he offers him a seat to his right.

Finally, God turns to Ricky Ponting: “And you, Ricky, what do you believe?”

Ricky replies: “I believe you’re in my seat.”

