A long, long time ago…
I can still remember
How this country used to make me smile
And even though I left when things got tough
I knew I never had enough
And surely would get back here in a while

But things got worse and many shivered
With every paper that was delivered
Bad news on the doorstep
Insidiously it crept

I do remember I nearly cried
When I heard about his widowed bride
And something touched me deep inside
The day Press Freedom died

So goodbye to national pride
Drove my pickup to the bar
It was Poya so the bar was dry
But them good ‘ol boys were smokin’ shit and getting high
Singing this will be the day Press Freedom died

Have you read the book of love
And do you have faith in God above
If the Dhamma tells you so?
Do you believe in Karmic force
Can lying save the Holy Goat
And can you tell me how to dance real slow?

Well we know that they’re in love with him
Ever since he went to war to win
Even though they are both the same
Each of them playing that power game
The herd’s deaf and blind to what’s goin’ down
They fail to see the tinsel crown
That’s perched perilously on his head
Getting bigger with the increasing dead

So I joined them singing
Bye bye to national pride
Drove my pickup to the bar
It was Poya so the bar was dry
But them good ‘ol boys were smokin’ shit and getting high
Singing this will be the day Press Freedom died

The past few years have been pretty dire
And there’s no one here to put out the fire
But that’s not how it used to be
When we were young and we were free
And could speak of anything we wanted to
In voices that came from me and you

But while we all were looking down
A jester helped steal that phony crown
The courtroom was adjourned
No verdict yet returned
And after the South had lit the spark
The Tigers practiced in the dark
And freedom started to die

We were singing
Bye bye to national pride
Drove my pickup to the bar
It was Poya so the bar was dry
But them good ‘ol boys were smokin’ shit and getting high
Singing this will be the day Press Freedom died

And there he was upon the stage
Our hands were clenched in fists of rage
No creature born in hell
Could break this deadly spell
And as his voice rose in the night
And minions did the sacrificial rite
We saw Satan dance in wild delight
The day Press Freedom died

We were singing
Bye bye to national pride
Drove my pickup to the bar
It was Poya so the bar was dry
But them good ‘ol boys were smokin’ shit and getting high
Singing this will be the day Press Freedom died

I met a girl who heard the news
And all she did was sing the blues
I asked her why but she turned her back
So I went down to the paper store
Where I had read the news before
The man there said he couldn’t help
As the papers were all black

And in the war zone children scream
The poets write of broken dreams
And many words are spoken
Of freedom trampled and broken
But the men they fear the most
The King, the Beast and Holy Goat
Will someday pay the cost
For killing national pride

We go on singing
Bye bye to national pride
Drove my pickup to the bar
It was Poya so the bar was dry
But them good ‘ol boys were smokin’ shit and getting high
Singing this will be the day Press Freedom died

