You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 28, 2009.

The early morning gloom that followed a night’s welcome rain has given way to a bright and sunny mid-morning at Flowerbook. Java had to bathe Rocky, who simply loathes a bath, whilst Buster, Bruiser and Sally looked on. And then we were indoors listening to a shuffle of numbers off the iPod whilst imbibing some heavenly ‘Early Misty’ direct from Amsterdam, when Emily made her presence felt – through one of Java’s stream of consciousness rambles. It could well have been brought to the surface through Paul Simon’s ‘For Emily’ that the iPod had shuffled up for us, although Simon’s ‘Emily’ bore little resemblance to the crone that Java kept flashing on in his recurring dream. So we listened to the lyrics through the Early Misty haze. Arresting melody, haunting song:

What I dream I had, dressed in organdy
Clothed in crinoline, of smoky Burgundy
Softer than the rain

I wandered empty streets, down past the shop displays
I heard cathedral bells, tripping down the alley ways
As I walked on

And when you ran to me your cheeks flushed with the night
We walked on frosted fields of juniper and lamplight
I held your hand

And when I awoke and felt you warm and near
I kissed your honey hair with my grateful tears
Oh I love you, girl

Oh, I love you

It was enough to quieten Java and get his mind off the other Emily for a while, but I have this familiar premonition that it won’t be long before the crone surfaces through the complex processes that it takes for just about anything to emerge from Java’s mostly muddied stream of thought.

We should not hold our breath though!