You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 26, 2007.

I read the news today. Oh Boy!
Not ‘about a lucky man who made the grade’,
And though the news was rather sad
Well I just had to laugh,
I saw the photograph.
He blew himself up in a car
He’d noticed that the lights had changed.
The crowd of people gathered round
They couldn’t find his face no more
So nobody was really sure if he was from the ‘other side’.

I watched the news today. Oh boy!
The army had just cleared the way
The mounds of corpses everywhere
But I just had to look
Having read the book

I’d love to turn you on

Woke up
Got out of bed
Didn’t hear what the radio said
Got the coffee going and drank a cup
Got myself together and set off for work
The roads were jammed, the checks in place
It didn’t work – I heard a blast
Someone screamed and I went into a dream
Aaahhhh…

I read the news today. Oh boy!
Four thousand graves in some small wilderness
And though the graves were rather small
I couldn’t count them all
So now we’ll never know
How many graves will fill the BMIC Hall

I’d love to tuuurrrnnn yooouuu oooonnnn